T. Boone Pickens to be Honored at Annual Healthcare Luncheon


IRVING, TX – The Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council (DFWHC) announced today it will present the 2012 Distinguished Health Service Award to T. Boone Pickens for his lifetime of dedication to North Texas healthcare during the 64th Annual Awards Luncheon, Oct. 18 at the Arlington Convention Center.

“Mr. Pickens’ business leadership in Texas and the southwest is legendary. His support of local healthcare was something hospital executives of Dallas and Fort Worth insisted upon acknowledging,” said W. Stephen Love, president and chief executive officer of DFWHC. “He has provided advice and support to North Texas healthcare for decades and is one of the most deserving recipients in the history of the award.”

Pickens built one of the largest independent oil companies in the U.S. and has flourished as an entrepreneur. Among his lengthy accolades, Financial World named him CEO of the Decade in 1989 and Oil and Gas Investor listed him as one of the “100 Most Influential People of the Petroleum Century.” The breadth of his philanthropy —$1 billion — includes medical research and academic projects. In 2006, his charitable activities, which included $175 million and the establishment of the T. Boone Pickens Foundation, placed him on the Chronicle of Philanthropy’s list of top U.S. philanthropists. His Foundation is focused on improving lives through grants supporting educational programs, health and medical research, corporate wellness and at-risk youth.

In a debate sure to create fireworks a month before the presidential elections, the luncheon’s keynote speakers will be James Carville and Mary Matalin. The “Ragin’ Cajun” Carville and his wife Matalin have famously resided on opposite sides of the political spectrum for years, serving as political commentators for CNN TV. Carville guided Bill Clinton to U.S. Presidential victory in 1992, while Matalin has served as an assistant to U.S. President George W. Bush. Moderating the debate will be D Magazine editor Glenn Hunter.

DFWHC will also recognize a Young Healthcare Executive of the Year, an award designated for North Texas healthcare leaders 40 years of age or younger.

The DFWHC is a 75 hospital member-driven organization with 43 years of service to North Texas healthcare. Governed by a 13-member board, the hospital trade association is committed to the continuous improvement of patient care.

The luncheon is sponsored in part by Fulbright & Jaworski, LLP, GroupOne Services, and D Magazine, with additional sponsorships currently available. For more information, please contact Kristin Alexander or Chris Wilson at 972-719-4900.