North Texas hospital employees awarded during April 18 Luncheon


HURST, TX – A salute to the North Texas hospital workforce, the Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council (DFWHC) Foundation’s 26th Annual Employee of the Year Luncheon was held April 18 at the Hurst Conference Center. More than 600 attendees turned out to honor 125-plus nominees and 14 award recipients from health systems across the region.

“We hope this day was a memorable and inspiring one for the nominees,” said Jen Miff, president of the DFWHC Foundation. “The Foundation is a strong proponent for workforce programs that make a difference in the quality of care for all North Texans. This recognition is critical to boost staff morale, retain a strong workforce and honor the roles of every employee who contributes to the successful delivery of patient care, whether on the front lines or behind the scenes. These nominees deserved to be recognized and it was our honor to applaud them during this luncheon.”

Themed “Making a Difference,” the luncheon’s masters of ceremonies included Vanessa Walls, chief market executive of the northern market at Children’s Health and chair-elect of the DFWHC and DFWHC Foundation Boards; and Becky Tucker, senior vice president channel integration at Texas Health Resources and past chair of the DFWHC and DFWHC Foundation Boards.

Award recipients included:

    Rex McRae Scholarship
    Ryan Nguyen, Patient Care Technician, Methodist Mansfield Medical Center

    Physician Award
    Dr. Cesar Termulo, Parkland Health

    Volunteer Award
    Doug Portwood, Children’s Medical Center Plano

    Preceptor Award
    Jacob Flores, Staff Registered Nurse, Methodist Dallas Medical Center

    System Award
    Dr. Sabrina Browne, Pediatric Psychiatrist, Children’s Medical Center Dallas

    Community Service Award
    Rosalind Bryant, Senior Administrative Assistant, UT Southwestern University Hospitals

    Special Recognition Awards
    Susannah Runyon, Ultrasound Technologist, Children’s Medical Center Plano
    Samuel Hale, Multimodality Tech, Baylor Scott & White Medical Center – Centennial
    Heather Thweatt, Trauma Registrar, Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Plano
    Jennifer Furlano, Clinical Nurse Coordinator, Medical City Dallas

    Employee of the Year Awards
    Amy Turner, Registered Nurse, Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Flower Mound
    Karrie Falwell, Patient Care Tech, Medical City Alliance
    Terri Crockett, Occupational Therapist, Methodist Charlton Medical Center
    Courtney Bell, Admission Specialist, Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Fort Worth

Young Healthcare Executive of North Texas and board members of the North Texas Chapter of the American College of Healthcare Executives judged the blinded nominations on March 26. Individual and hospital names were removed in advance and selections were based entirely on the facts presented within the form letter. Nominees were separated into four categories of hospitals including 1-99 beds, 100-250 beds, 251-499 beds and 500-plus beds.

Top sponsors of the event were Hall Render, FORVIS, AlphaGraphics Arlington, GroupOne Background Screening, Konica Minolta, Baylor Scott & White Health, Children’s Health, Cook Children’s, Parkland Health and Texas Health Resources. Additional sponsors included JPS Health Network, Medical City Healthcare, Methodist Health System and UT Southwestern University Hospitals.

The DFWHC Foundation is a non-profit 501c3 with a mission to serve as a catalyst for continual improvement in community health and healthcare delivery through education, research, communication and collaboration.

# # #

IMMEDIATE RELEASE – April 22, 2024

Chris Wilson, DFWHC