More than 700 turn out for DFWHC’s 75th Annual Awards Luncheon


Stephen Love (l to r), Bucky Thrash, Amanda Thrash, Cynthia Izaguirre, Michael Guyton and Phyllis Guyton.

More than 700 attendees turned out for the DFW Hospital Council’s (DFWHC) 75th Annual Awards Luncheon on Friday, October 27 at the Irving Convention Center.

With the theme of “Inspired Dedication,” this year’s event was highlighted by the appearance of Jane Pauley, anchor of the award-winning CBS Sunday Morning, as keynote speaker. Her presentation was moderated by Cynthia Izaguirre, news anchor at WFAA Ch. 8. They received a standing ovation following their presentation.

Former Arlington Mayor Jeff Williams was this year’s Distinguished Health Service Award recipient, and he was accompanied by his wife Karen. The 2023 recipient of the Young Healthcare Executive of the Year award was Amanda Thrash, president of Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Allen, who was accompanied by her husband Bucky. The Kerney Laday, Sr. Trustee of the Year honoree was Michael Guyton of the Texas Health Board of Trustees, who attended with his wife Phyllis.

Becky Tucker, chair of DFWHC and senior vice president of channel integration at Texas Health, served as Master of Ceremonies. DFWHC’s Chair-Elect Jessica O’Neal, chief executive officer at Medical City Las Colinas, introduced the keynote speaker.

Jon Roth, chief executive officer at the Dallas County Medical Society, provided the opening invocation while Kathryn Keaton, program director at the Tarrant County Medical Society, closed the luncheon with the benediction.

Celena Rae, the in-arena host and singer for the Dallas Stars of the National Hockey League, performed the National Anthem to open the Luncheon.

“We always appreciate the attendance at our Annual Awards Luncheon,” said Stephen Love, president/CEO of DFWHC. “It’s great way for our North Texas hospital executives to come together, network and to honor these important leaders of regional healthcare. It is always an honor to host them.”

Top sponsors of the event were Hall Render, FORVIS, Medical City Healthcare and Texas Health. For a full list of the sponsors, please click here.

For the official video played at the Luncheon detailing recent award recipients, please click here.

VIPs in attendance included Irving Mayor Rick Stopfer; Amy Eskey of the Texas Hospital Association; members of Kerney Laday, Sr.’s family Kerney, Laday, Jr., Karen Laday, Tony Laday, Marcia Laday, Collette Laday and Cary Love; David Pearson of the American Hospital Association; Keller Mayor Armin Mizani; Delia Jasso formerly of the Dallas City Council; Andy Stern, former Distinguished Health Service Award recipient; and Bob Ferguson, former Kerney Laday, Sr. recipient.

All photographs by Jerry McClure.

Becky Tucker

Head table at the 75th Annual Awards Luncheon.

Young Healthcare nominees Ryan Gebhart (l to r), Lindsey Tyra and Alexis Burnett with Becky Tucker.

Mayor Jeff Williams

Amanda Thrash

Celena Rae

Mayor Jeff Williams and his wife Karen.

Jane Pauley (left) and Cynthia Izaguirre