Levi H. Davis to receive Kerney Laday, Sr. Trustee Award


IRVING, TX – The Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council (DFWHC) announced today Levi H. Davis will receive the Kerney Laday, Sr. Trustee of the Year Award to be presented at its 68th Annual Awards Luncheon, October 18 at Arlington Convention Center. The award was named in memory of Kerney Laday, Sr., who served on the Texas Health Resources Board of Trustees for 10 years. He was chair of the board when he passed away in September, 2012. The inaugural award was presented to his family in 2013.

Mr. Davis has been a longtime board member of Methodist Health System, beginning his tenure in 2002 and named chair in 2012. He is also a former assistant Dallas city manager. Davis was the first black board chairman of Methodist Health System, and the first to come from the public sector. Davis has also served on the boards of the Texas Healthcare Trustees, the Texas Hospital Association, the State Fair of Texas and the Dallas Symphony.

“Levi Davis has dedicated his time and talent to generously support the hospitals of North Texas,” said W. Stephen Love, president/CEO of DFWHC. “As a longtime Dallas visionary, he has sacrificed so much of his energy due to his undeniable leadership. He’s a perfect example of why this award was created.”

In addition to honoring Mr. Davis, DFWHC will present the Distinguished Health Service Award to Margaret Jordan, president/CEO of Dallas Medical Resource; and the Young Healthcare Executive of the Year Award to Clint Abernathy, president of Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Alliance. Tucker Carlson and Eugene Robinson will serve as keynote speakers. A special tribute to Joel Allison, the longtime Baylor Scott & White president/CEO who is stepping down after 17 years, will also be presented.

The event is sponsored in part by Hall Render and CampbellWilson, LLP. For information, please contact Chris Wilson at chrisw@dfwhc.org or 972-719-4900.

About the Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council
Headquartered in Irving, the DFW Hospital Council is a 90-member organization with 47 years of service to North Texas. Governed by a 14-member board of hospital executives, the hospital trade association is committed to the continuous improvement of patient care.

# # #

August 18, 2016

Chris Wilson
(972) 719-4900