Dr. Wright Lassiter to receive Distinguished Health Service Award


IRVING, TX – Known to North Texas residents as “Mr. Public Servant,” Dr. Wright Lassiter, Jr. has been chosen by the Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council (DFWHC) as the 2014 recipient of the Distinguished Health Service Award. The honor will be presented during DFWHC’s Annual Awards Luncheon, October 21 at the Arlington Convention Center.

Dr. Lassiter entered the Dallas County Community College District (DCCCD) in 1986 as president of El Centro College. After 20 years he became chancellor of DCCCD, serving from 2006 until his retirement in 2014.

His accomplishments include the launching of the school’s first medical campus and completing the largest capital improvement bond program in Dallas District history of $450 million. Dr. Lassiter was instrumental in forming partnerships with area hospital systems to accelerate graduation from Dallas system colleges with associate degree nursing programs. He led the formation of the District Health Resources Center, serving as an entry point for students interested in allied health and nursing careers.

“Dr. Lassiter has served both North Texas healthcare and education for more than two decades,” said W. Stephen Love, president/CEO of DFWHC. “He is a deserving recipient of this award and we are looking forward to honoring his tremendous career on October 21. It will be a memorable day.”

Dr. Lassiter is also known for his public service in Alabama where he was the first African-American chairman of the board of commissioners of the Tuskegee Housing Authority. He implemented the Civil Rights Act of 1965 and the first home ownership program in the Tuskegee Housing Authority; one of the first in the nation.

Dr. Lassiter and his late wife were married 55 years and they had a son and a daughter. His son Wright Lassiter, III, is the CEO of Alameda Health System.

The Distinguished Health Service Award has been bestowed annually for 66 years. Since 1948, residents of the Dallas/Fort Worth area have been honored for their support of healthcare. Past recipients include Senator Florence Shapiro (2013), T. Boone Pickens (2012), Ray and Nancy Ann Hunt (2009), Ross and Margot Perot (2008), Paul M. Bass, Jr. (1995), Ruben Esquivel (1992), Dr. Charles Sprague(1986), Tom Vandergriff (1985), Mayor J. Erik and Margaret Jonsson (1974) and Joe Dealey (1967).

In addition to honoring Dr. Lassiter, the Young Healthcare Executive of the Year and the Kerney Laday, Sr. Trustee of the Year awards will be presented, October 21. Pulitzer Prize-winning author Jon Meacham will serve as keynote speaker. The event is sponsored in part by CampbellWilson, LLP and GroupOne Services.

Sponsorships are now available. For more information, please contact Kristin Alexander at kalexander@dfwhc.org or Chris Wilson at chrisw@dfwhc.org. You can also call 972-719-4900.

DFWHC is an 88 hospital and 95 associate member trade organization with more than 45 years of service to North Texas healthcare. Governed by a Board of Trustees made up of hospital executive officers, the hospital trade association is committed to the continuous improvement of patient care.

# # #

August 25, 2014

Chris Wilson
(972) 719-4900