DFWHC honors recipients at 74th Annual Awards Luncheon


Patrick Brown (l to r), Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson, Dorothy DeBose, Jessica Long and Stephen Love.

The DFW Hospital Council (DFWHC) would like to thank all participants and attendees during its 74th Annual Awards Luncheon last Friday at the Irving Convention Center. The event hosted more than 500 attendees with Hall Render and Forvis serving as the top sponsors.

Recipients include:

    Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson with the Distinguished Health Service Award;
    Dorothy DeBose of JPS Health Network as the Kerney Laday, Sr. Trustee of the Year;
    Patrick Brown of Methodist Charlton Medical as the Young Healthcare Executive of the Year.

Jessica Long, one of America’s most decorated Paralympic champions, served as keynote speaker.

“We were thrilled to host the Annual Awards Luncheon in person for the first time since 2019,” said Stephen Love, president/CEO of DFWHC. “It was great to be able to visit with so many friends for the first time since the pandemic and we were honored to award this year’s recipients who have contributed so much to the quality of healthcare in North Texas.”

Johnson and Long received standing ovations. John Liddle, news anchor at NewsRadio KRLD 1080 AM, performed the National Anthem to open the Luncheon. Jon Roth, CEO of Dallas County Medical Society, and Kathryn Keaton, program director at Tarrant County Medical Society, provided the invocation and benediction.

This year’s Master of Ceremonies was Blake Kretz, DFWHC chair and president of Texas Health Arlington Memorial Hospital. Becky Tucker, DFWHC’s chair-elect and senior vice president of channel integration at Texas Health Resources, introduced the keynote speaker.

VIP guests in attendance included Kerney Laday, Jr., Marcia Laday and Collette Laday; Charlie Powell of Ciera Bank and former Distinguished Health Service Award recipient; Ruben Esquivel of UT Southwestern and former Distinguished Health Service Award recipient; and John Creecy of Baylor Scott & White All Saints Medical Center and former Kerney Laday, Sr. Trustee of the Year.

Nominees of the Young Healthcare Executive of the Year award in attendance included Graham Torres of Children’s Health; Josh Kemph of Medical City Healthcare; Francesco Mainetti of Parkland Health; and Jennifer Chavez of Texas Health Resources. They were presented awards noting their 2022 nomination.

Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson

Jessica Long

Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson and Blake Kretz

Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson and Stephen Love stand before the awards presented at the luncheon.