DFWHC Annual Luncheon attracts 700-plus attendees


ARLINGTON, TX – With an audience of 700-plus in attendance, the DFW Hospital Council (DFWHC) hosted its 69th Annual Awards Luncheon on October 31 at the Arlington Convention Center. Themed “The Difference Makers,” the event was highlighted by a keynote address from Ann Curry, former co-anchor of NBC’s Today show.

Honorees included Larry James of CitySquare with the Distinguished Health Service Award; Fraser Hay of Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Plano as the Young Healthcare Executive of the Year; and Anne T. Bass of Texas Health Resources as the Kerney Laday, Sr. Trustee of the Year.

“We are honored to provide an opportunity to applaud these historic friends of North Texas healthcare,” said W. Stephen Love, president/CEO of DFWHC. “They have played a crucial role in contributing to the quality of local healthcare. It is with great pride that we host this luncheon to celebrate their extraordinary careers.”

Additional participants included Dallas jazz musician Freddie Jones performing the National Anthem; Michael Darrouzet of the Dallas County Medical Society providing the invocation; and Brian Swift of the Tarrant County Medical Society presenting the closing benediction. Scott Peek, chair of the DFWHC Board of Trustees and chief operating officer at Baylor University Medical Center, served as master of ceremonies.

Hay’s Young Healthcare Executive of the Year Award opened the program and he noted his inspiration for working in the profession.

“We get into healthcare to help others but often find ourselves on the receiving end,” Hay said. “I was searching for a career that I believed in. And it was because of a couple of hospital leaders who let me know what it meant to them that got me hooked for life.”

Nominees of the Young Healthcare award were also honored to include Julie Do, vice president of finance at Methodist Dallas Medical Center; Natalie Wilkins, chief of staff to the president/CEO at Cook Children’s Health Care System; and Niki Shah, vice president of care redesign, equitable care and digital health at Baylor Scott & White Health.

Bass received a standing ovation and noted the work of the award’s namesake Kerney Laday.

“This award goes to the heart of who Kerney Laday was,” she said. “He had the philosophy of looking forward in healthcare, and that’s what he did during his tenure with Texas Health Resources. To be the recipient of an award named for him means the world to me.”

James also received a standing ovation and noted the residents cared for by CitySquare.

“I accept this honor on behalf of the Community Health Services partnership that we created at CitySquare, along with all of our patients and neighbors, so many of whom struggle with poverty on a daily basis,” he said.

Curry closed the program acknowledging healthcare employees in the audience.

“Listening to your awardees and your achievements, and looking at all of you who have spent so many efforts to make sure that our sick are so well cared for, I feel as though I have arrived at an oasis from what can feel like chaos outside of this room,” she said.

The top Platinum Sponsors of the event were Hall Render and CampbellWilson. Additional sponsors included GroupOne Background Screening; Denitech – A Xerox Company; Agency Creative; Accenture; ELEVATE340B; H-Source; VITAS Healthcare; Texas Health Resources; Baylor Scott & White Health; JPS Health Network; Cook Children’s Health Care System; Kindred Healthcare; and Medical City Healthcare.

VIPs in attendance included Dallas County Judge Clay Jenkins; Tarrant County Judge Glen Whitley; Arlington Mayor Jeff Williams; Wylie Mayor Eric Hogue and Texas Hospital Association President/CEO Ted Shaw.

DFWHC is a 90 hospital and 85 associate member trade organization with more than 47 years of service to North Texas healthcare. Governed by a Board of Trustees made up of hospital executive officers, the hospital trade association is committed to the continuous improvement of patient care.

# # #

November 1, 2017

Chris Wilson, DFWHC