DFW Hospital Council announces 2022 recipients of its annual healthcare awards


The DFW Hospital Council (DFWHC) announced today the 2022 recipients of its annual awards with Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson to receive the Distinguished Health Service Award; Patrick Brown, vice president of operations at Methodist Charlton Medical Center, named Young Healthcare Executive of the Year; and Dorothy DeBose, chair of the board of managers at JPS Health Network, selected as Kerney Laday, Sr. Trustee of the Year.

The awards will be presented during DFWHC’s 74th Annual Awards Luncheon on October 21 at the Irving Convention Center. A reception begins at 11:00 a.m., followed by the luncheon and awards from 12 noon to 1:30 p.m.

Since 1948, DFWHC’s Distinguished Health Service Award has been bestowed annually to North Texas residents who have dedicated their lives to improving healthcare. Congresswoman Johnson is serving her 15th term representing the 30th Congressional District of Texas. After three decades in office, she announced she would retire after her present term expires.

Johnson is the first African American and female to chair the House Committee on Science, Space and Technology and is the Dean of the Texas Congressional Delegation. She is also Dean of the Texas, New Mexico, and Arizona Democratic Congressional Delegation, and was the first Registered Nurse (RN) elected to the U.S. Congress.

She began her career as the first female African American Chief Psychiatric Nurse at the Veterans Administration Hospital in Dallas. In 1972, she became the first RN elected to the Texas State House and achieved the same distinction when elected to the Texas Senate in 1986.

“I cannot think of a more worthy recipient,” said Stephen Love, president/CEO of DFWHC. “Congresswoman Johnson has been an inspirational leader who championed improvements in healthcare, education, veteran affairs, minority rights and equality. She has lived a life focused on equality, advancement and a desire to promote STEM education for all. Her dedicated efforts to the social drivers of health have helped many residents across the U.S. She chaired the Coalition for Hunger Solutions and has sponsored many bills addressing food insecurity. We are looking forward to honoring her.”

The Young Healthcare Executive of the Year Award honors youthful professionals who display the impressive abilities of future North Texas leaders. Created in 2005, nominees must be 40 years of age or younger and employed by a DFWHC-member hospital. This year’s recipient Patrick Brown took over as vice president of operations at Methodist Charlton Medical Center this summer. Located in south Dallas, Methodist Charlton has been a pillar of the surrounding communities and serving its mission since 1975. Working within the community, Brown serves as the president of the DFW Chapter of the National Association of Health Service Executives, providing him the opportunity to connect with elected officials and advisory board members to inspire hospital progress. He was also named Early Careerist of the Year in 2020 by the ACHE of North Texas.

The Trustee of the Year honor was named in memory of Kerney Laday, Sr., who served on the Texas Health Resources Board for a decade. The award was created in 2013 to honor trustees who have displayed excellence throughout their careers. This year’s recipient Dorothy DeBose is a retired nurse executive and chair of JPS Health Network’s Board of Managers. She has served on the board for 12 years in addition to serving on the HR Committee, the Quality Committee and president for the past six years of her local Neighborhood Association.

“With these awards, we are proud to acknowledge the extraordinary community leadership of Patrick Brown and Dorothy DeBose who have dedicated their careers to our community’s health and well-being. We are grateful to recognize their contributions.”

The awards luncheon will be sponsored in part by Hall Render and Forvis.

For information on sponsorships and tickets, please contact Chris Wilson at chrisw@dfwhc.org.