Charlie Powell to receive Distinguished Health Service Award


IRVING, TX – Charlie Powell, the president/CEO of Ciera Bank and chairman of the board of JPS Health Network and Tarrant County Hospital District, was announced today as the 2018 recipient of the Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council’s (DFWHC) Distinguished Health Service Award. He will be recognized during DFWHC’s 70th Annual Awards Luncheon on Wednesday, October 17 at Arlington Convention Center.

Powell’s career spans over three decades with a reputation for mentoring countless young professionals. His community dedication includes tenures on the Fort Worth Economic Development Council, Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce, the Boy Scouts of America Longhorn Council, the Alliance for Higher Education, Texas Can Academy Foundation and the Fort Worth ISD Young Men’s Leadership Academy.

In 2013, Powell and his son James served as co-chairs of the Tarrant County United Way Campaign, the first father-son team in the 91-year history of the community organization. He currently chairs the Make-A-Wish Foundation Regional Council. Powell and his wife Beverly have co-chaired numerous charitable events for the American Heart Association, Texas Can Academy, Recovery Resource Council and Make-A Wish Foundation. He is also the recipient of the Leadership and Community Service Award from the Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce and the Distinguished Leadership Award from the Boy Scouts of America.

“Charlie Powell has been a respected banker in North Texas for many years, but he is also an unparalleled leader in our community,” said W. Stephen Love, president/CEO of DFWHC. “His conscientious service to numerous community organizations plus his dedicated leadership in improving the health in our region is extraordinary. We thank him for offering his untiring service to continually improve the quality of life and the health of North Texan residents.”

Since 1948, DFWHC’s Annual Awards Luncheon has been an opportunity for North Texas hospitals to honor important friends of healthcare. The Distinguished Health Service Award has been bestowed annually for 70 years to DFW-area residents including Larry James (2017), Margaret Jordan (2016), Dr. Merlyn Sayers (2015), Dr. Wright Lassiter, Jr. (2014), T. Boone Pickens (2012), Ray and Nancy Ann Hunt (2009) and Ross and Margot Perot (2008).

The luncheon’s keynote speaker will be Alan Simpson, the spirited American politician who served as U.S. Senator of Wyoming from 1979-1997. The reception begins at 11:00 a.m. followed by the luncheon and awards from 12:00 noon to 1:30 p.m. Recipients of the Young Healthcare Executive of the Year and the Kerney Laday, Sr. Trustee of the Year awards will be announced in August. Sponsorships and tickets will also go on sale in August.

For questions, please contact Chris Wilson at or call 972-719-4900.

DFWHC is a 90 hospital and 85 associate member trade organization with more than 48 years of service to North Texas healthcare. Governed by a Board of Trustees made up of hospital executive officers, the hospital trade association is committed to the continuous improvement of patient care.

# # #

July 26, 2018

Chris Wilson, DFWHC